Depression.

Depression is real and very serious. It can hit you when you least expect it. It takes away the things you enjoy. It makes you want to do nothing. It can keep you from living. There are some people who say that depression is all in your head. They think you can just decide to be happy and it will happen. I wish that was how it worked.
193deb55e36f93ca6f533f79dc5460fc
I have battled depression for almost 10 years. I have had my up and my downs. During the past few days, I am down. Unless you have been there before you can’t imagine how it is. Feeling as though you don’t know how to be happy. As though your mind has lost the ability to feel joy. Just wanting to sleep all day, but knowing you can’t. Not being able to enjoy watching your favorite TV show or read a book. You just don’t want to.
e84880269e39d4d6aa6c12498742a193
It can be hard to hide your depression. You can try to be happy. Sometimes you can be convincing, but usually you aren’t. Sometimes. you even start thinking that people would be happier if you weren’t in their lives.
329cfdc0e97d766f14968eca24b6bec0
If you ever feel like you are depressed, call your doctor. Make an appointment. Get the help you need.
Or if someone you know is showing signs of depression, encourage them to seek help.

4 thoughts on “Depression.

  1. Thank you for sharing your personal story. I know that your post will be helpful to others experiencing depression and may encourage them to seek medical care. I hope that you have a great evening, experience an “up,” and enjoy a fun tv show tonight! Sending positive thoughts your way!

  2. I totally agree that depression is hard to understand unless it is experienced. I have struggled with depression my whole life… even since I was a young girl. It is a battle. Some days harder than others. What has helped me is 8 hours of sleep at night, walking everyday, natural med called SAMe, and believe it or not! – Blogging! 🙂 Blogging has allowed me to have a creative outlet. Thanks for sharing this post! 🙂

  3. I went through a bad depression when I had my son, his health was really bad when he was born. He was premature and born with a life threatening birth defect. And as a mother I felt completely helpless and I blamed myself. Even though the birth defect was nothing I could have controlled I still felt that I created him my body did this to him. I worked through it though and as a mother you have to pull yourself together not only for yourself but your children. I agree though that depression is hard to understand if you’ve never been there because people think it’s something you can just snap out of but if that was the case suicide wouldn’t unfortunatily be such a huge issue.

Leave a Reply

