Potty training.

People like to say that when it comes to potty training, one gender is easier. Though from my personal experience, both can be equally difficult or equally easy. It all depends on the child. Some children catch on right away. Others take a few months. Then there are those children who do it for a few weeks and then decide it isn’t fun anymore, so they stop. Or they only do one in the potty and the other in their underwear. I was lucky enough to have children in all of those categories.

My oldest took forever to potty train. She started at 18 months, was doing amazing, using the potty for about 2 months, then decided she had had enough. Again when she was 2.5 years old, she went good for a month or so, then was back in diapers again. Finally, I got few up. 2 months after her 3rd birthday, I told her I’m not buying anymore diapers. She went the next 6 months peeing in her underwear, but eventually she got it.

My 2nd child was the easiest to potty train. I put her in underwear, she had maybe 2 accidents and was good to go.

My 3rd child was pretty good about using the potty. Except when it came to going poop. He wouldn’t use the potty to poop. Then one day when we were out shopping, he went to use the bathroom at Wal-Mart. It was one of those automatic flushing toilets. He moved the slightest bit while he was sitting on it and it flushed. He jumped off so fast, I’m surprised he didn’t get pee everywhere. It took months to get him to use the bathroom in public. (Whether it was an automatic flushing or not.) But eventually, he got over his fear and was good.

My 4th child was pretty easy. I put her in underwear and after about 2-3 months, she was fully potty trained.

Now my 5th child is a different story. He was using the potty and wearing underwear. Still having trouble going poo in the potty and not his underwear. Then after a few weeks he stopped peeing in the potty. Now he refuses to use it all together. He is in pull ups. I don’t want him to think I’m pushing him, but I told my mom that once he turns 3, that’s it. I’m done with pull ups and diapers. He will use the potty.

image

9 thoughts on “Potty training.

  1. Ah yes, the never ending battle of ‘will this happen?’. I understand the frustration. Sounds like you have done amazing! I barely made it through 2 kids potty training sane, I can’t imagine 5!

  2. Oh boy! What I have ahead of me šŸ™‚ Potty training and tantrums! I am getting scared šŸ™‚ Isn’t being a Mom so fascinating! LOL! šŸ™‚

  3. My husband couldn’t be bothered, at 3 years old, to learn to potty train because he didn’t want to stop what he was doing. I, on the other hand, mastered it quickly. Fingers crossed our DD takes after me šŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

