I am an adult.

    What makes you an adult? I am going to be honest. I am 27 years old and still feel like a kid most of the time. As though I am just playing house. Is it having kids or getting married that makes you an adult? When does it become real? I have 5 children and I am on my second marriage. I get up every day, get kids up, ready, fed and off to school. I change diapers and bathe little kids who smell like pee. I do dishes. Wash laundry. Sweep and vacuum. I cook meals. I make doctors appointments. I make sure my daughter takes her pills. I stay up late. I watch rated R movies. I (very rarely) go to bars. I drink wine. I shave my legs. I even have sex. Do those things make me feel like an adult? Not really. I feel as though I have to remind myself that I am the adult here. I am not one of the kids. (I also constantly have to remind my kids that. They seem to forget as well.) I can do so many things that a child can’t. I am legally considered an adult. (Which is not nearly as much fun as I thought it would be.) So why don’t I feel like it? Will I ever feel like one? Hmm…..

Image

3 thoughts on “I am an adult.

  1. This is so funny, I love it! and I can totally relate. I’m in disguise, too. We can be in disguise together! 😉 So happy to see you embracing this whole blog thing! You’re even better at it than me! Its hard for me to find time and topics I find worthy but it seems to come so easy to you. You are also a great multi-tasker. I hope to keep getting better in that realm 😀 Love the post!

Leave a Reply

